DWI (Driving While Intoxicated)

Attorneys with the Mutrux Law Firm know that most drunk driving charges hinge on field sobriety tests and chemical test results.  Many people wrongly believe that chemical tests cannot be performed in the field and must be administered at a police facility. Chemical tests can be conducted in the field and do hold up in court.

A DWI or DUI arrest presents two legal challenges: a criminal charge and the loss of driver’s license.  The criminal aspect is governed by criminal law and dictates fines, fees, penalties, sentencing and parole (probation).  Whether you will lose your license is governed by administrative or civil law and relates to your driver’s license and driving record.

The Mutrux Law Firm can handle both of these issues, in addition to recommending alcohol counseling, a positive personal step that is also noted favorably by the court.  Tyson Mutrux of the Mutrux Law Firm investigates every DWI and DUI case.  In your defense, Tyson Mutrux will scrutinize the drunk-driving arrest and the circumstances of your blood alcohol test.

Below is a list of possible penalties if you’re convicted of Driving While Intoxicated.  Penalties can be severe for first time offenders, but offenses become progressively worse for subsequent convictions.

  • 1st Conviction: Up to a year in jail, or by a fine between $600 and $2,100, or both.  Driver’s license suspended for 90 days.
  • 2nd Conviction (within five years): Mandatory jail time of at least five days, but up to one year, or instead, mandatory community service for at least 30 days.  Mandatory fine of between $1,100 and $5,100.  Driver’s license revoked for a year.
  • 3rd Conviction: Mandatory jail time of at least 60 days, but up to one year.  Mandatory fine of between $2,100 and $10,100.  Driver’s license revoked for three years.
  • 4th or Subsequent Conviction: Counts as a “Class C felony.”  Mandatory jail time of at least one year, but up to ten years.  Mandatory fine of between $4,100 and $10,100.  Driver’s license revoked for five years.

Convicted drunk drivers will have a criminal record.  Unless expunged, a drunk driving conviction may remain on your record forever.  Therefore, this information will be available to employers, credit bureaus, and government agencies to see.  This is why you should contact an experience DWI attorney immediately.

The Point System Violation Description Table published by the Missouri Department of Revenue can be found here.

I Refused To Take a Breathalyzer Test; What Happens Now?

Most people who refuse a Breathalyzer test receive a 15-day driving permit and stand to lose their license for a year.

It is critical to contact an attorney during those 15 days.

Contact Tyson Mutrux and the skilled lawyers at The Mutrux Law Firm to talk about your case for no cost or obligation.

Missouri Field Sobriety Tests

Can I Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in Missouri?

Common Missouri DWI/DUI Questions

DWI Expungement

Costs of a Missouri DWI/DUI

Miscellaneous Missouri DWI/DUI Information 

Missouri DWI Statutes

National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) Manual

Tyson Mutrux
The Mutrux Law Firm
1717 Park Avenue, St. Louis, MO 63104
Phone: 314-270-2273|573-268-7316
Tyson@TysonMutrux.com