Missouri’s No Pay No Play Law and its Role in Personal Injury Cases
Attorney Tyson Mutrux describes in this video Missouri’s No Pay No Play Law and its Roll in Personal Injury Cases.
Hi, Tyson Mutrux here with the Mutrux Law Firm and right now what I want to do is discuss 303.390.01 of the Missouri Revised Statutes. That’s Missouri’s “No Pay No Play” statute.
Now, what that means and what that says is, if you’re driving around without insurance and you get into an auto accident, you cannot recover for non-economic damages. There’s a couple exceptions to that and i’ll get to that in a moment. But what that means is if you’re injured you cannot recover for pain and suffering. You can recover for the cost of your medical bills, which obviously is a main concern, and you can recover for property damage, but you cannot recover for the pain and suffering which is usually the bulk of an injury claim. So that’s a very very key factor. You want to keep that in mind if you’re driving around Missouri. You want to make sure you maintain insurance.
Now, a couple exceptions to that. The first one is, if the person is driving while intoxicated and they’re convicted of second degree assault, or manslaughter. The other one, and the more common one, is if your insurance lapsed in the last 6 months for non-payment. The non-payment is very important. It can’t be for some other reason, for example let’s say, your license was suspended, your insurance company finds out and they terminate your insurance. You’re not covered in that scenario. But where you are covered is if let’s say you had insurance 5 months ago, but you didn’t pay your premium, they sent you a notice and cancelled your insurance. In that instance, you are covered.
So that should give you an idea of what Missouri’s “No Pay No Play” statute is. If you have any other questions go to www.thestlinjurylawyer.com, or check us out at (888) 550-4026. Thanks for watching and have a great day.